Chicken Braised in Pomegranate Molasses Sriracha Sauce and Roasted Veggies

Chicken Braised in Pomegranate Molasses Sriracha Sauce and Roasted Vegetables.

My best friend brought over some Pomegranate Sriracha and Mint Chicken Wings that she had made for a dinner party. The recipe came from the marvelous Food Network show, Aarti Party, that she and I like to watch.  There was a lot more sauce than wings, so after snapping up the wings, I stored the sauce in the fridge for a second use. As my friend said, “that sauce could make frilled shoe leather taste good.” It’s true. It is delicious. I am not repeating the recipe here since it’s her recipe and freely available to you by following this link. I had perhaps 1/8th cup of the sauce, so I added it to some warm water in my skillet to make a braising liquid and then put in a chicken breast and braised it in the sauce.

In the oven I put in a handful of green beans, about 6 thin asparagus and a red pepper cut into thin strips to mimic the shape of the beans and asparagus. I tossed on some olive oil and kosher salt and roasted at 450 for 15 minutes. They finished just after I removed the breast to let it rest on my plate before serving.

The pomegranate sauce is a deep dark reddish-purple that looks black in the photo. It was not black on the plate, though it’s very dark from the highly concentrated pomegranate molasses. The flavor is amazing – spicy, sweet, rich and fruity.

Leave a comment