Mushroom Beef Tortellini with Sauteed Veggies and Dill Sour Cream

Ground Beef & Mushroom Tortellini, Sauteed Veggies and Dill Sauce

This was a better-cook-this-before-it-turns meal and sometimes they are my favorites. I sauteed a quarter of an onion and a clove of garlic in 2 teaspoons of olive oil. I put in 1 tsp of oregano and 1/2 tsp of cumin and stirred them in before adding 1/4 pound of ground beef and two mushrooms. I turned the heat to medium-low and concentrated on the veggies.

I chopped up another quarter of onion and three cloves of garlic and tossed into a skillet with 2 teaspoons of olive oil. While the cooked I carefully cut up a zucchini and a summer squash and a red bell pepper. I had to peel the zucchini and squash as they were starting to turn and the peel looked unappetizing. I trimmed the ends that were also turning and tossed that away. The pepper, I cleaned and cut into strips. I tossed the pepper in first as it needed a bit more time to cook. After a couple minutes I added the green and yellow squash and put a lid on the pan. Before serving, I squeezed half a lemon on it to brighten the flavor. I added salt and pepper to taste.

I boiled water for the tortellini and added a cup of tortellini to the water. While the tortellini cooked, I put 1/4 of sour cream in a bowl, added some salt and 2 tsp of dill weed and the juice from half a lemon and mixed it all together for a sauce.

I strained the tortellini about a minute before it was done and stirred it into the meat sauce so it could absorb some of the meat sauce liquids.  I plated it with the veggies and the dill sauce on the side. I could not tell which loved the dill sauce more, the meat or the veggies. Everything was so delicious.

One response

Leave a Reply

