Carnitas and Rocket

dscn6748

I heated my cast iron skillet to medium, adding

  • 1/2 TBSP of olive oil,
  • 1/4 tsp of dried ginger,
  • 1/4 tsp of chili powder,
  • salt,
  • pepper, and
  • 1 tsp of Jamaica Jerk seasoning.

The spices will bloom in the hot oil. I added

  • 2 TBSP of thinly sliced onions.

While they cooked. I cut up a piece of boneless pork “carnitas” that was on sale for $1.58/pound at WinCo. I cut up about

  • 1 cup of thinly sliced pork pieces

I let the pork cook until done. When it was fully cooked, I added 2 handfuls of rocket (arugula) and stirred in with

  • 2 tsp of seasoned rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp of soy sauce

Mixing everything together, as soon as the rocket was tender, I served it up in a bowl. It made a tangy and spicy delicious dinner.

Leave a Reply

