Rustic Kale Salad with Poached Egg

Rustic Kale Salad With Poached Egg

I was making a soup and chopped up one bunch of kale. Seeing that I had chopped more than I would need for the soup, I decided to make a quick salad for lunch and have the soup for dinner. This salad is amazing and I know I will make it again and again.

Strip the stem and finely chop fresh curly kale. You will need about 1 cups of fresh kale. In a bowl, add 1/2 tbsp of walnut oil and the juice of 1/2 fresh lemon. Add a pinch of kosher salt. Crush and mince two cloves of garlic. Toss everything in the bowl and with your hands, massage the oil and lemon into the kale. This will break down the leaves and make them tender. When it was done, I grated about 1 oz of parmesan cheese and stirred it in.

Put into your serving bowl and set aside while you poach an egg.

To poach an egg, bring 1 inch of water to a simmer in a skillet. It should be right on the edge of boiling, but not quite. You need to acidulate the water so the egg white coalesces and normally you would add a dash of vinegar, but since I had fresh squeezed lemon juice, I simply put some water into the bowl I used to squeeze the juice and then put the water into the skillet – that transferred plenty of the lemon juice to the water. I cracked a fresh egg into a small bowl and then used that to transfer the egg into the simmering water gently. Using my slotted spoon, I pushed the white toward the yolk so it would form a tight poached egg. After 30 seconds or so on the heat, I put a lid on the skillet and removed it from the heat. In 4 minutes the egg was perfectly cooked. I used the slotted spoon to get it out of the water and drain it before putting it on top of the salad.

Yum!

One response

Leave a comment