Pork Tenderloin with Italian Beans

This pork tenderloin was amazing. I was all set to rub some Earl Grey tea on it before baking, but then I wondered what would happen if I used ground coffee instead. I did some research on coffee rubs and they varied quite a bit, but most of them had a few ingredients consistent from recipe to recipe. For my first coffee rub, I decided to keep it simple and stick with those core ingredients.

  • 2 TBSP of coffee beans. I put them in my Magic Bullet and let it go until they were ground fine. Then I added
  • 2 TBSP of brown sugar
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp of chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp of pepper

I gave that a couple whirls to mix them up and then spread the rub out on a long piece of cling film. I laid the tenderloin over the rub and rolled it around and rubbed the pieces into the meat. Then I formed it into a snug roll and wrapped it up tight in the cling film and set it in the fridge overnight.

To roast it, I put a cast iron skillet in the oven at 450° Fahrenheit and let the pan heat up in the oven. I removed it from the oven when it reached 450° and put a tbsp of olive oil in the pan and spread it around. I unwrapped the tenderloin and laid it in the pan, I turned the heat down to 400° and put it in the oven for about 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, I turned it over and let it cook 1o more minutes. I checked the doneness with a thermometer, looking for 140°. Then I removed it from the oven and let it rest 10 minutes before slicing across the grain.

It’s an amazing flavor. It actually tastes like a rich sweet bourbon was poured over it.

Makes 8 servings.

Italian Beans.

This was just a quick veggie dish I tossed together. I put 2 cups of frozen Italian beans in a sauce pan with 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 can of cannellini beans. I added some salt and pepper and one close of garlic (squashed and minced). I heated until done and shaved a bit of Asiago cheese on top.

Makes 4 servings.

Leave a Reply

