Hungarian Mushroom Omelette

Hungarian Mushroom Omelette

This may look a bit fancy with the multiple layers of thin omelette with mushroom sauce rolled up inside, but it only takes 15 minutes from fridge to feast.

I started with the mushroom sauce. On medium heat, I melted 1/2 TBSP of butter and added 1 TBSP of diced scallions. I then washed and sliced 4 mushrooms and added them. Adding a bit of salt, pepper and about 1/2 tsp of paprika, I let them all sauté.

Meanwhile, I heated a griddle to 250° F to cook my omelette. I use a lefse griddle because I have one, but any large, flat nonreactive surface will do. That means no cast iron griddles. It’s essential that the temperature be relatively low so the eggs cook through without browning or crisping since only one side touches the griddle.

I whisked together 3 eggs, a large pinch of flour and just enough water to mix thoroughly. I also added salt and pepper and whisked it in. I took a dollop of butter and spread it over the surface of the griddle so all of the surface was covered and poured the omelette mixture in the middle and then tilted the griddle in different directions to make it spread out as thin as possible. I then left it to cook until it was done.

Going back to the sauce, I added about 1 tsp of lemon juice and stirred that in. I chopped up some fresh parsley, about 2 TBSP, and added most, but not all, to the sauce. I kept a few pieces back to sprinkle on top at the end. I then added a heaping spoonful of sour cream to the sauce and mixed it in and removed the sauce from the heat.

I waited until the omelette was cooked through before rolling it up. I have a lefse turner, but you can use a soft-edged spatula. Transferring to the plate, I unrolled it just a bit to add the sauce and rolled it back up, sprinkling just a bit of parsley on top for a bit of bright color.

Frankly, sour cream, mushrooms, paprika and lemon is one of the most delicious flavor combinations known to man. You can’t go wrong with it and adding it to an omelette is just taking it up a notch.

Leave a Reply

