Roasted Pear & Asparagus Salad

Roasted Asparagus & Pear Salad

This takes a tiny bit more work than most of my meals, but the rich caramelized flavors are worth it and it was a great way to use the half-pear left over from eating some fruit for breakfast.

So first steps are roasting the half-pear and the asparagus. I heated the oven to 400. In a small baking dish (for making individual quiche or tortes) I put 1 TBSP of balsmaic vinegar, 1 TBSP chopped onions and 1 TBSP of olive oil and mixed together. I put the peeled and cored half pear in and turned it a few times and put it in the oven to roast. About 10 minutes later, I spooned the balsamic back over the pear, basting it. I took 6 asparagus spears and put them in my roasting pan with a sprinkle of olive oil and kosher salt and started it roasting. I checked the pears and basted them every few minutes while they roasted. When the asparagus and pear began to caramelize, I removed them.

Meanwhile, I tore some red lettuce, cut up some pre-cooked chicken left over from making soup, and cut two thin slices off an onion that I broke apart into circles and layered them in a bowl. I chopped up about 6 almonds and roasted them in a skillet with no oil until they browned.

I cut the asparagus into thirds and chopped the now-tender pear and put them on top of the salad and added the almonds and some dried cranberries. I added a bit of fresh ground pepper, a dash of olive oil and the juice from half a lemon.

The contrast between the fresh lettuce, the cold chicken and the hearty roasted asparagus and sweet and rich pears is amazing. The onions add an essential bit of tang.

Leave a Reply

