Ham & Egg Salad Sandwich

Ham & Egg Salad Sandwich with Soup

Considering that there are egg salad sandwiches, ham salad sandwiches, egg sandwiches, ham sandwiches, ham & egg sandwiches and ham and eggs, I wondered why I had never seen and egg and ham salad sandwich. Resolving to address that lack, I mixed up a sandwich for lunch the other day.

I already had hard-boiled a half dozen eggs for salads and breakfast, so they were sitting nice and cold in a bowl in my fridge. I also had a peeled onion in the fridge that I had used in a few things and cut one 1/4 inch slice off it and diced it up. I chopped up one baby dill and added that. I sliced off about 2 ounces of ham and chopped it into cubes. Then I peeled a boiled egg and quartered it and cut the quarters in half. In a small bowl I mixed a TBSP of mayo with a dash of apple cider vinegar, 1/2 tsp of mustard, salt, pepper, a sprinkle of cayenne and a couple shakes from the celery seed jar. I mixed that up and stirred into the ham, egg and onions and spread on a toasted ciabatta. I served with the Chicken Tortellini Soup from the day before.

It was tasty, but doesn’t supplant a plain egg salad sandwich which is one of my favorite sandwiches of them all.

Leave a Reply

