Chicken & Olive Melt Sandwich with Chop Salad

Sauteed Chicken Sandwich & Chop Salad

Today’s lunch was the third meal from the salad fixings I made day before yesterday. I finely chopped 1 celery stalk, 1 Pink Lady Apple, 1/2 cup of pecans, 2 tbsp of yellow onion, a handful of dried cranberries and 1 cup of fresh cilantro. This made three times as much as is needed for one sandwich or salad, so I did not mix it with the chicken or dress it with any salad dressing so I could use it as a base for different options – a far easier solution than cutting up 1/3 of an apple, etc. etc.

I had about 4 oz of the reserved white meat from my chicken soup remaining, so I cut it up and sauteed it in a small pan along with 6 chopped olives and 1.5 ounces of pepper jack cheese. I used about 1/2 tsp of olive oil just to keep it from sticking while it heated, with low heat and watching stirring, it won’t stick. While it cooked, I toasted a ciabatta bun, putting a bit of dijon mustard on the top. When the chicken was heated and the cheese melted, I put it on the bun.

I chopped up three leaves of romaine lettuce, spread the final third of thesalad fixings I had reserved on top and added a bit of raspberry vinaigrette. It makes a yummy vegan salad with plenty of bite.

Leave a Reply

