Red Kale with Bacon, Dried Apricots and Almonds

Red Kale with Bacon, Dried Apricots and Almonds

This was one of those make-it-up-as-I-go-along recipes. I knew I wanted some cooked red kale for supper, but wasn’t sure how I wanted to prepare it. But it’s always safe to start yummy leafy, green veggies with some bacon.

I took two slices of bacon and cut them into 1 inch pieces and tossed them in the pan to cook. Meanwhile, I chopped up 1/2 of a small yellow onion and added to the bacon. I crushed 2 cloves of garlic. While they were cooking, I cut the stems from about 10 stalks of red kale and chopped them up. I then put the chopped kale in a colander and washed again to make sure they were clean. Those curly leaves have a way of hiding dirt, so a second rinse is useful and adds just the perfect amount of liquid for the rest of the cooking. Before adding the kale, I tossed in about 10 almonds I had chopped up thinking it would add some nice crunch. I stirred them in a bit and then I added the kale to pan and stirred and let it cook. While it was cooking, I took 4 dried apricots and sliced horizontally into about 1/4 inch slices and tossed that into the mix, thinking it would add some great color and a great new level to the taste. I then sliced 2 small lemons in half and reamed them over the saute pan – adding that lemon juice to give it some acid and served it up. It had a lovley mix of sharp and savory flavors.

Leave a Reply

