Kale Sauteed with Bacon

Kale Sauteed with Bacon

Everything goes with bacon, right? This was a fast an easy lunch that I was able to cook during one of the twenty minute breaks between fashion shows at Modavia Fashion Week. I used an old-fashioned iron skillet, putting it on the burner at medium with 1 TBSP of olive oil. I chopped up half an onion and tossed it in with the olive oil. I added some salt and pepper and 1/4 tsp of cumin. I squashed a clove of garlic with the side of my knife and chopped it up and tossed it in. Then I took 4 slices of bacon and cut them into 1 inch pieces and added them. I put the lid on and let them cook while I trimmed the stalks off my kale.

I used half a bunch of curly kale or about 2 cups or so, and cut into thing strips. I find it easiest to trip by folding it in half and sliding a thin boning knife along the rib. It’s not as fast as with the bigger knife, but I actually manage to remove most of the ribs instead of pretending I did. This takes so long that by the time the kale is trimmed and cut into small shreds and 1 fresh, juicy tomato has been quartered and diced, the onions and bacon are done and ready for them. Toss everything in and put the lid back on. Clean up your mess and get your bowl ready. When the kale is tender and the tomatoes are cooked, sprinkle some balsamic vinegar on and some salt and pepper to taste and serve. It has a rich, savory flavor with a bit of tang from the garlic and some freshness from the balsamic. It’s delish.

Leave a Reply

