Fresh Tomato Soup & Egg Salad Sandwich

30 Minute Tomato Tarragon Soup & Egg Salad Sandwich

I started with the soup, a very quick and easy one that doesn’t require the hours of simmering that a meat soup needs. I chopped up 1/2 of a medium onion and put it in a sauce pan with 1 TBSP of butter, 2 tsp of tarragon and 1 tsp of cumin and let it cook while I chopped up three cloves of garlic. I tossed in the garlic and 2 tsp of curry powder. Then I chopped up 3 tomatoes, added some salt and pepper and 2 TBSP of ketchup and put a lid on and let it cook. I stirred occasionally while it simmered away.

For the eggs, I had boiled a couple eggs for breakfast, but added two to the kettle for egg salad and put them in the fridge and they were nice and cold by lunch. I peeled them and mashed them up in a bowl with 2 TBSP of sweet relish, 1 TBSP of mustard, salt, pepper, and about 2 TBSP of mayonnaise and a little squeeze of fresh lemon. I took a pita and heated it in the microwave, cut it in half, put some lettuce in and spooned in the egg salad.

The soup was done by now and I poured it into a Magic Bullet (you can use a food processor, but I don’t have one) and pureed the soup and poured it into a bowl. It makes one large bowl of soup. Normally I make a big pot of soup, but that’s when I spend a few hours simmering bones to get all the flavor out of them. With fresh vegetables, you want to make it quick so that they still have the bright fresh flavor of lovely ripe vegetables.

Leave a Reply

