Zucchini Parm Tian

A tian is simply a layered dish of thin slices of vegetables on a bed of onion and garlic that’s baked to perfection. You can pretty much use anything, though you want them to be close in baking time. For this I used

  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 1 onion sliced and diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 yellow squash
  • 1 potato
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1 tsp of butter
  • tarragon
I preheated the oven to 375. I washed and cut the potato into thirds and set it to boil in a pan, leaving the skin on. In a skillet I sauteed the onion in olive oil until it was traslucent, added the garlic and let it cook down until the potato was done. Meanwhile I sliced the other vegetables into 1/4 slices. When the potato was tender but not soft, I removed it and ran cold water on it and cut it into 1/4 slices which I then cut in half to make them about the size of the zucchini.
I put the onion and garlic in the bottom of a dish and then placed the vegetables in, alternating veggies. In a round pan, do it in a circle. In an oval pan, make fans of your veggies. I packed them in tight and sprinkled a bit of tarragon on top. Then I covered with a piece of parchment paper that you spread butter on very lightly and put in the oven for 20 minutes. While baking, I shredded some parmesan.
Options: You can add a little wine to the onions and also you can add some herbs. Thyme and tarragon are tasty.
Leave a Reply

