Oven-Roasted Green Beans, Turkey Cutlets with Mustard Tarragon Sauce

This is a quick and easy meal to make in about 15 minutes and yet rich, flavorful and luxurious. I turned the oven to broil and started with about a cup of fresh green beans that have been snapped. I spread them around the bottom of my paella pan. Seriously, I love my paella pan and probably roast vegetables 100 times for every time I might make paella. I sprayed the green beans lightly with PAM olive oil spray – a great kitchen essential because there’s no way to get as little olive oil as you really need when you pour. You don’t need a teaspoon of olive oil, just a tiny spritz. I sprinkled a pinch of kosher salt on the beans and shoved them in the oven.

Then I pulled out a package of ground turkey. I had bought a family size package and divided it into small storage bags holding 5 ounces of ground turkey. That’s approximate. I divided it into equal portions and then weighed one. Since I wanted to blend some herbs into the ground turkey I left it in the plastic storage bag and added some salt, pepper, garlic powder and a pinch of dry mustard. This is just 5 ounces of meat, so only a pinch of each was needed. I then mixed and squished while it was in the bag. Heating up the skillet and giving it a little spritz of olive oil spray, I made two patties and set them to cooking at medium heat – 6 on my 1 to 10 electric stove.

Then I put about 4 tablespoons of white wine in a sauce pan and began to heat it to cook off the alcohol. I use good white wine and never buy “cooking wine” following the wise advice that if it’s not good enough to drink, it’s not good enough to cook with. I sliced up two crimini mushrooms and about 1 TBSP of leek (green end) and added them to the wine. I added 1 teaspoon of dry tarragon and let it all simmer. And now it was time to turn the turkey patties.

While it was simmering, I missed 1 TBSP of flour and 2 TBSP of half and half and waited until the green beans were done. Letting them continue to brown and caramelized a little longer (the more the tastier), I added the cream and flour mix and stirred. Then I added about 1 teaspoon of mustard and stirred until they were nice and creamy. I took the green beans from the oven, plated them with the turkey cutlets and then poured the mushroom sauce in between to add a bit of tangy and hearty flavor to both the beans and turkey cutlets.

Leave a Reply

