Caramelized Potatoes and Roasted Corn

When I saw the baby red potatoes at the grocery store I knew immediately that I was going to make caramelized potatoes. I know, doesn’t it sound disgusting? But it’s not! The caramel coating is so thin and light and with the hearty herbs, the contrast in flavors is amazing. There was some yellow corn on the cob and I know it’s not in season so it wasn’t really appropriate for anything but roasting. The thing is, roasting veggies taste better if you use veggies that are beginning to get a bit old, so out of season, been on a ship for a week corn is fine for roasting.

I first started the potatoes boiling. Even with the baby potatoes it’s going to take a good 20 minutes to get them nice and tender. I cooked twice as many potatoes as I planned to caramelize because I had plans for lunch the next day.  Then I sprayed the corn with PAM olive oil spray and tossed it in the oven at 475 to roast. Then I took a little break and put some herbs in a bowl. I used dry oregano,  dry parsley, salt, pepper and a dash of dry mustard and just mixed them up.

Time to start the steak.   I put about a tsp of olive oil in the pan, brought it up to medium high heat and put the steak on. Adding some salt and pepper, I let it cook.  Seven minutes on one side and 3-4 on the other and it’s done. I took it off to rest and went to finish the potatoes, putting them in a strainer to drain off all the water.

Now for the caramel, I added 1 tablespoon on butter and melted it in a medium high skillet. Then I added two tablespoons of sugar and let it melt and brown, turning to caramel. Tossing the baby potatoes in the skillet, I swirled them around until they were all coated and then tossed the herb blend in the skillet and kept swirling. It got a bit uneven, thanks to me being just a bit slow in adding them. They still tasted wonderful.

After I put the steak and potatoes on the plate, I grabbed the corn out of the oven and voila! Everything was tasty and delicious and now I wish I had bought twice as many baby potatoes.

 

One response

Leave a Reply

