Three Egg Omelet

I like many-layered omelets and luckily I have a lefse griddle with a surface large enough to let me make them. I heat the griddle to 300° F and spray olive oil on the surface. While it’s heating I mix up my eggs.

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 tsp mustard
  • 1 TBSP mayonnaise
  • pinch of salt and pepper
  • 1/2 tsp dill weed

I whisk these together until the eggs turns pale yellow, but not until it begins to loft. I know mayo sounds like an odd thing to use. Most people use milk. I used mayo once when I didn’t have any nonfat dry milk to mix up and loved the tang it added to the omelet. It has replaced milk ever since.

I pour it on the griddle and using the handles, turn the griddle to spread it out to the full 16 inch diameter of the griddle.  Then add the fixings. In this case, I added 3 thin slices of deli ham and 1 oz of cheese sliced super-thin.  As soon as the omelet is cooked through – about a minute, I start rolling it up. I first turn in the sides like a burrito. You can use a spatula for this, but I have a lefse turner and it was made for the job. Then I begin rolling it up from one end of the griddle to the other. It was too big to fit on my plate, so I had to cut it in half which made it a bit messy. I added a thin bagel to eat with the omelet, though you can see I over-toasted it just a bit. My toaster has quit popping up on its own and I have to watch it like a hawk.

Leave a Reply

