Roast Beef with Red Cabbage & Apple Salad

Of course you cannot roast beef in single portions, so I like to make my beef roast quite simply with just some garlic and pepper rubbed into it before roasting. I roast on a circular roasting pan that rests on a base that catches all the fat. I roast at 350 and watch the time carefully, taking the roast out when it reaches 140. I will be reheating it so it cannot be overdone.

For the Red Cabbage and Apple Salad, I made enough for four meals. It is made with two cups of red cabbage chopped fine and one crisp, tart apple. This one is a Gala apple, but many other apples would work as well. The sauce is made from 1 TBSP olive oil, a teaspoon of mustard, 2 TBSPs of white vinegar, a dash of sugar and salt and some poppy and celery seeds to taste. This keeps well so you can make a little more and not have to eat it for every single meal. Normally I would use caraway instead of poppy seed or celery seed, but I was out. I contemplated using anise seed but chickened out, but next time I think i will go with the anise seed because it needs a stronger flavor than celery seed.

Leave a Reply

